Yuanke's Discovery I Session 0 : An Introduction

How I would like to make changes in Energy and Agriculture for Shanghai

Hey I'm Thomas, a French born Chinese studying in Shanghai and majoring on how computer science come meet energy and agriculture. I'm starting off today to share and upload my works so I can hear from you ^^. Here we go~

Project AgriTech: BioCloud Dynamics

During the famous lockdown in Shanghai this spring, the goods supply chain was a catastrophe, people locked in their house have no guarantee on the food quality or security because the city itself lacks capacity of producing food itself . At that time I thought it would be great if there could be a distribution of indoor vertical farms in the city, and that the vegetables residues could be treated on-site with aerobic or anaerobic digestion technics. Actually one of the main challenge I would like to deal with in this area first is the reduction of electricity consumed by the indoor climate control. Thats how this project Agritech shall be in collaboration with my other project energy...

Project Energy: Habitats Power

Recently I've been assigned to work with the Shanghai Metro Group on their project aiming to reduce the daily consumption of the subway stations energy systems. The focus of my participation is to optimize the the air-conditioning systems parameters as well as the lightning operations in public area. It would recommend some reasonable combinations of complex physics modeling and AI methodologies, as well as virtual environment in which solutions could be simulated and compared with each other: And that's how came the idea of developing along the way, a whole new industrial simulation platform that would be easy to use, esthetically appreciable and competitive among users.

Why not use existing app such as EnergyPlus or TRNSYS? First of all, I always found that it is highly inconvenient to implement complex solutions on their user interface. Secondly, when navigating academia papers or enterprises conferences on the field of energy system, people have absolutely no idea on who has the best software or algorithm solutions, in other word, there is not yet any reliable and fair referee platform which could neutrally judge who is the best. And as a matter of fact, I believe engineering should be openly competitive like a sport game; may the best win.

Thats how I'm beginning the Habitats Power App, an open-source platform enabling the simulation of energy-use technics in application of buildings under specific climate conditions. In the future, users could upload their solution on any engineering cases and challenge with each other on various aspects.

Next

I actually have some other ideas to share for the next time, recently I decided to focus on one or two projects at a time whenever I feel like wanting to proceed it in my way. Later I'll share some of my works and I hope to meet other developers and engineers to expand my view^^.